Not so celebrated Websites !


There is a website for every single thing, today! iamfat.com, ihatethat.com, teachmetodrive.com, notinlove.com, iambored.com, its2inthemorning.com.  Every body, every business, every shop owner, whether he has a roof on top his head or not, he has a website. And it is a wise thing to do, considering how much useful time we spend uselessly in the online world.

Now since we spend almost all our time here on the net, why not learn a few more website names apart from our usual, linkedin, facebook blah blah …

Here are a few sites that I found that are worth a mention. They come quite handy, and the best part is that, the site does it’s job without any frills, with no pop-ups, no pay and proceed, no ads, and it’s free…

In short –  clean, straight to the point, no-frill websites.

A list of websites that are NOT so celebrated.. Take a look! –

Learn the Guitar from scratch, ultra-beginners – I just dusted off my old guitar a while ago. The guitar lessons are back! The best part is that there will be no annoying teacher or trainer, I’ll be able to learn the guitar in my own sweet pace. A one stop for all beginners. Trust Me!                                                              http://www.rhythmguitarzero2hero.com/

For those PDF File problems – Ever wondered how to edit a pdf file? Ever wondered why Adobe spend so much money creating a software that helps only read a file, and not edit, and still managed to do so well. If somebody does know please do tell me. But, here is a website that will not require you to do that research of Adobe’s secret.  Simply upload your file on the site, Make your changes, Save it back to your comp, Voila! Done! Simply Brilliant! Muahh!                                                                                                                                                               www.pdfescape.com

Convert ANY Format to ANY Format – How cool is that? Believe me! You don’t? Let me list out the array of formats this awesome website can convert. It has an Audio converter, Video converter, Document converter, Image converter, E-book converter, Archive converter, Hash generator converter all in one place. Convinced?    www.online-convert.com/

Lost your TV’s user-manual? Can’t find your Music System’s instruction manual? C’mon how many of us actually have a cabin that only has the user/ instruction manuals of all the electronic gadgets in the house, arranged in alphabetical order? If you do, get a life! Well if you don’t here’s a site that contains all the user/instruction manuals for all electronic/electrical devices, and when I say all, I mean all! ANY Brand! ANY Model! Check it out. Save paper! Save the Earth!                                                              http://www.manualsonline.com/

Bookaholic? Love to know the latest in the reading zone? If you’re a librarian and would like to keep your library updated, with the latest releases, latest entries, latest magazines, then this site will be a treat. Book lovers can take advantage of this site, by getting a glimpse of freshly printed books, available in the market. Good reads! Certainly yeah, I agree!                                                                                                                       http://www.goodreads.com

New to JAVA? Learning to code but need assistance? So you have your Sun (Now Oracle) Certification coming up soon and you have a few doubts but no one around who knows JAVA. Why not ask the founders of the language themselves? Yes! Just post your query, and get a response within 24 hours, by Kathy Sierra herself. Even if you’re a Khalid follower, this website can be very very useful –                                            http://www.coderanch.com

Someone Stealing your site content? Blog? Posts? Find that looser, sew him! But you need a reason for suing that copy-cat! Ask yourself. Do you want the content removed? Or do you want to be paid? Do you want the credit or the fame? Or do you want a simple link-back to your site?! Once you have the reason in mind,  you will also need money, a good lawyer, loads of time,  and also this site whois.net  It gives the domain of any website, very helpful in tracking the host. You can bring down the site, by just contacting it’s domain / ISP server. Mission accomplished!                                                                                                                                                               http://www.whois.net/

Tweaks for your WordPress blog – I’m sure you’d like to know how to put an online pet on your blog, how to split your sidebar into two, how to have a background music play on your blog, change your blog font etc. All that decoration and re-decoration for your blog can be done here. Pimp your blog!                     http://www.wprecipes.com

Why not create your own 3-D characters for a comic strip, play, avatar, site, movie? Here’s a site that allows you to download a very simple, easy to use tool which will enable you to create such amazing animations/ characters with absolute no prior knowledge of animation or MAYA or flash. You will surprise yourself. Check ’em  out yourself. A fair warning before that – This site is very very addictive, but fun. Indulge! http://www.pixologic.com/sculptris/

I hope I’ve made your life a lil’ easy, for all you modern ‘e-Columbus out there, surfing the web, whether lost or not, I hope you find what you like! Happy Surfing!

image : source

[tweetmeme]

44 thoughts on “Not so celebrated Websites !”

  1. My tech guy says pdf cannot be edited so the other person receiving can edit and claim you wrote it and that’s how he got it. He says it is intentional protection I guess for legal and contract communications. So I save the pdf and copy on document program which is able to be edited. Perhaps that would be to refine a short story according to publisher’s request as one example.

  2. Thanks for the list. Love Goodreads myself 🙂 When feeling down, I read FML and I feel much better knowing the lives of others can be just as screwy as mine. Happy New Year.

  3. I simply must check out wprecipes.com!!! I love to cruise around finding helpful websites, also. But I am writing this adult fairy tale/allgory book right now–just can’t spare creative energy away from it! Loved this post, though!

  4. wow, I am glad you shared all these list, I am really searching a way how to make my files more convenient for me and with this list I think I find a way, thank you so much for sharing…. 🙂

  5. Thanks for all of the links! I’ve wondered how to convert one kind of file to another without having to buy anything. And as for pdfs – I use Adobe Illustrator, as long as the file isn’t flattened. At least for graphic design and landscape architecture purposes. But if I didn’t have the Creative Suite, I would wonder how the heck to make changes.

    1. Yeah GoodReads is awesome… I don’t think you will be so impressed by WPrecipes.com though.. coz’ sadly it has stuff mostly for wordpress.org blogs .

      Glad you enjoyed the list tho.. : )
      Thanks for stopping by, Jeff! : )

  6. I’m definitely going to use the Guitar link and the any format converter link and the PDF link… heck I think I’ll be using most of these links. Later, I’m going to make an animation now 😉 Thanks!

    1. Wow! Thank you so much….!! Greatly appreciate it! : )
      I will be sure to pass it along as soon as I can… I am soo flattered! 🙂

      And Dolly, hope you have a wonderful year ahead too! : )
      Have a good one!

    1. Joe, you are too kind! Thanks for another nomination. Will get another list up very soon… : )

      Thank you for the encouragement.. thank you.. thank you ..thank you! : )

  7. Brilliant. As I read through your post, I found myself saying, “Yeah…I’ve been wondering how to do that…”
    Thank you soooo much. Here’s a hug.

  8. This is really helpful! I really need a site for converting files since college is VERY demanding. And I already signed up for the book site you gave, I just found every single book I wanted to read. 😀 Big thanks to youu. *hugs*

  9. Your site is so full of information and links for others to use – thank you for taking the time and effort to gather and post it all! I’m impressed and wanted to recommend you to my readers.
    I have nominated your blog for the 7 x 7 Link Award, please stop by my blog to see the rules so that you can pass it on to seven other deserving bloggers 🙂
    http://neekswrite.wordpress.com/

  10. Awesome site Vineet! I’m going to have to check a few of those out. I really think the PDF editor would be useful and I’m definitely going to check out the WordPress one you mentioned.

    Nice finds!

  11. I’d be very interested in the WP recipes! Especially a way to introduce a font different to what TypeKit offers. But then, it’ll require a knowledge in HTML. Or need me to get CSS, right?

    Oh, why don’t I just go and check it out?! Thanks, Storm Rider.

  12. Wow, now I want to learn guitar (tried once, lost interest). I wonder if I can do piano!

    Great sites! Love the site that you can shut down if they’re stealing your content!!

  13. Thanks for that great list of useful websites. I’ve just spent some time looking at the WpRecipes site and there’s some interesting stuff there. The pdf editor will come in handy too.

  14. Vineet,

    Please join me in the protest against SOPA/PIPA. Visit my blog for more details. If you want to black out in protest as well, log into your dashboard, click “Settings” then “Protest SOPA/PIPA” then select the option you wish.

    Thanks,

    Joe

  15. I am so excited to discover your site! animations and manuals ! and free?
    I can handle that… 🙂
    I will also book mark and follow this site ….. thank you for sharing…

  16. Well, you have one comment a day for a month ahead of me here, but I still thought I’d say my say. If you meant all of those links seriously, I can show some even stranger links that will do your bidding. But if, as I read it, you meant them with half a smirk on your face, congrats on the great post and on seriously impressing so many bloggers.

    1. Hey Juidth! It’s been a while… : )

      I actually did recommend them seriously 😛 ….aren’t they not good sites?!
      Hey and I’d love to see the list of websites that you have.. do share plz.. : )
      I like discovering new sites.. : )

Leave a Reply

