Poem ~ The Gatekeeper


The Gatekeeper

I find myself,
exactly where i’m supposed to be, in prison.
Built my own cell, one brick at a time
Thinking, what was, what next
Not living; Just serving time.

When things go wrong
I swear, I question every little thing
Slipping in and out of doubt,
As negativity lurks in

I turn problems to excuses
They steer me away
From things important; Important to me
The problem so comfortable,
It is here to stay

It helps me paint the sky with a hint of grey
Obstacles created
Were they meant to be?
This darkness, this deceit.
I feel astray

The stars begin to fall,
Smiling beams of yellow light
They crumble towers, near and far alike
The new norm of the night
All hell breaks loose
But no, not for me; my yester-me

Drowning in pity, seeded from love
This thing in my head, it’s thumping away,
I embraced the love, spat out the sympathy
Wrestled the Yin, as I wooed in the Yang

Time is no healer. Life, just a shitty dealer.
This thought makes me quiver,
But the truth must be worn
Life ain’t meant to be heavy
To stay true, is the truth alone

Yes, it made me fall
Heck, it makes me yell
But, this stumbling block, I maketh my stepping stone

As I stare at the etchings on the wall,
Echoes of freedom, screech through the hall
I know this voice, I know it so well
The prisoner and gate keeper
Is no one, but me

image source : source

USERS ONLINE

Leave a comment